IFP in eThekwini congratulates shack dweller activist for winning international prize

The Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP) in eThekwini Municipality wishes to congratulate activist and president of the shack dwellers organisation, Abahlani Basemjondolo, Mr Sbusiso Zikode. He is the recipient of the 2021 Per Anger Prize, an international award for human rights from the Swedish Government. The prize will be awarded by the Living History Forum on April 21, 2021.

Zikode has been a visible activist for the past 15 years, representing the rights of shack dwellers within the eThekwini Municipality. On multiple occasions he has faced court cases on behalf of the organisation, yet he has never backed down. He has always been a believer that shack dwellers should be respected and provided with the same rights as all other citizens.

This international Prize has been awarded to a truly well-deserving person – S’bu Zikode. As the IFP, we wish to congratulate him. The Prize appropriately reflects the endless time and energy Zikode has invested and will continue to invest as he stands and fights for the rights of shack dwellers.

IFP Member of eThekwini Executive Committee
Councillor Mdu Nkosi
076 133 1382