The IFP is made up of a “main” body, which is led by our President Prince Mangosuthu Buthelezi and his National Executive Committee (NEC), as well as a Women’s Brigade and a Youth Brigade. Both the Brigades have offices, which are based in the Durban Head Office.

Members of the Women and Youth Brigades both serve on the National Executive Committee (NEC), which meets every Monday to consider important matters affecting the Party as well the country as a whole.

Election for both Brigades takes place every five years at their national conferences.